You are here
Home > US News > Almost 170 Members Of Congress Are Participating In The Ongoing Sit-In For Gun Control

Almost 170 Members Of Congress Are Participating In The Ongoing Sit-In For Gun Control

Almost 170 Members Of Congress Are Participating In The Ongoing Sit-In For Gun Control

At least 169 members of Congress are currently sitting on the House floor in order to demand action on gun control.
Led by Rep. John Lewis (D-GA), the 168 Democratic lawmakers and one Republican have said they will sit on the floor for as long as it takes the House Republican majority to call a vote.



Here are the members of Congress who are participating or have participated in the sit-in for at least part of the day:
Rep. John Lewis (D-GA)
Rep. Scott Peters (D-CA)
Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)
Rep. Chellie Pingree (D-ME)
Rep. Donna Edwards (D-MD)
Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA)
Rep. John Yarmuth (D-KY)
Rep. David Jolly (R-FL)
Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-OH)
Rep. Bob Brady (D-PA)
Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA)
Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT)
Rep. Pete Aguilar ( D-CA)
Rep. Judy Chu (D-CA)
Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
Rep. Kathy Castor (D-FL)
Rep. John Larson (D-CT)
Rep. Janice Hahn (D-CA)
Rep. Tony Cardenas (D-CA)
Rep. Norma Torres (D-CA)
Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN)
Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-MS)
Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA)
Rep. Lacy Clay (D-MO)
Rep. Jim Himes (D-CT)
Rep. Cedric Richmond (D-LA)
Rep. Alan Lowenthal (D-CA)
Rep. Albio Sires (D-NJ)
Rep. Nita Lowey (D-NY)
Rep. Lois Capps (D-CA)
Rep. Charles Range (D-NY)
Rep. John Conyers (D-MI)
Rep. Dan Kildee (D-MI)
Rep. Betty McCollum (DFL-MN)
Rep. Doris Matsui (D-CA)
Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR)
Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-TX)
Rep. Alma Adams (D-NC)
Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI)
Rep. John Carney (D-DE)
Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
Rep. Brenda Lawrence (D-MI)
Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)
Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI)
Rep. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)
Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)
Rep. Bill Keating (D-MA)
Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY)
Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL)
Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA)
Rep. Lois Frankel (D-FL)
Rep. Gerald E. Connolly (D-VA)
Rep. Bobby Scott (D-VA)
Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL)
Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-NY)
Rep. Joe Crowley (D-NY)
Rep. Elizabeth Esty (D-CT)
Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY)
Rep. Katherine Clark (D-MA)
Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA)
Rep. Joe Kennedy III (D-MA)
Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA)
Rep. Niki Tsongas (D-MA)
Rep. Brendan Boyle (D-PA)
Rep. Gwen Graham (D-FL)
Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-CA)
Rep. Diana DeGette (D-CO)
Rep. Richard Neal (D-MA)
Rep. Keith Ellison (D-MN)
Rep. Jared Huffman (D-CA)
Rep. Louise Slaughter (D-NY)
Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI)
Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-MD)
Rep. Adam Schiff (D-CA)
Rep. Jim McDermott (D-WA)
Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA)
Rep. Alan Grayson (D-FL)
Rep. Ami Bera (D-CA)
Rep. Steve Israel (D-NY)
Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM)
Rep. Dave Loebsack (D-IA)
Rep. Beto O’Rourke (D-TX)
Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-IL)
Rep. Debbie Dingell (D-MI)
Rep. David Price (D-NC)
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)
Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY)
Rep. G.K. Butterfield (D-NC)
Rep. Stacey Plaskett (D-Virgin Islands)
Rep. Ruben Gallego (D-AZ)
Rep. Emanuel Cleaver II (D-MO)
Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-MD)
Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)
Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY)
Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA)
Rep. Jim Langevin (D-RI)
Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-WA)
Rep. Bill Pascrell (D-NJ)
Rep. Mike Quigley (D-IL)
Rep. John K. Delaney (D-MD)
Rep. Donald M. Payne (D-NJ)
Rep. Patrick E. Murphy (D-FL)
Rep. Bill Foster (D-IL)
Rep. Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM)
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)
Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH)
Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI)
Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ)
Rep. Stephen Lynch (D-MA)
Rep. Robin Kelly (D-IL)
Rep. Frederica Wilson (D-FL)
Rep. Danny Davis (D-IL)
Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI)
Rep. Marc Veasey (D-TX)
Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ)
Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN)
Rep. Eliot Engel (D-NY)
Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-NY)
Rep. Grace Meng (D-NY)
Rep. Kathleen Rice (D-NY)
Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA)
Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-CA)
Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)
Rep. Sander (Sandy) Levin (D-MI)
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)
Rep. Peter Welch (D-VT)
Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA)
Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA)
Rep. Mike Thompson (D-CA)
Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA)
Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA)
Rep. Jackie Speier (D-CA)
Rep. Mike Honda (D-CA)
Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
Rep. Brad Sherman (D-CA)
Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-CA)
Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA)
Rep. Raul Ruiz (D-CA)
Rep. Linda T. Sanchez (D-CA)
Rep. Juan Vargas (D-CA)
Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA)
Rep. Luis V. Gutierrez (D-IL)
Rep. Andre Carson (D-IN)
Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)
Rep. John Sarbanes (D-MD)
Rep. Michael Capuano (D-MA)

Rep. Rick Nolan (D-MN)
Rep. Dina Titus (D-NV)

Rep. Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH)
Rep. Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
Rep. Donald Norcross (D-NJ)
Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY)
Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)
Rep. Charles B. Rangel (D-NY)
Rep. Jose E. Serrano (D-NY)
Rep. Brian Higgins (D-NY)
Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-OH)
Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-OR)
Rep. Mike Doyle (D-PA)
Rep. Jim Clyburn (D-SC)
Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
Rep. Rick Larsen (D-WA)

Rep. Denny Heck (D-WA)

Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)
Many of the lawmakers posted photos and other words of support on Twitter.

After Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI) forced the C-SPAN cameras to stop recording, others began streaming live video through Periscope.
Several members of the Senate, including Sen. Chris Murphy (D-CT) — who led last week’s 15 hour filibuster — joined them on the floor to show their support.
Lewis also wrote a letter to Ryan, urging him to hold a vote:


Similar Articles